Image 1 of 1
Neny Fjord, Antarctica, Jan. 7, 2007 - A view if the icy waters in Marguerite Bay on just south of the Antarctic Circle. Though the ice fields on the continent have not changed dramatically, the temperatures in the South Sea surrounding Antarctica hace risen 11 degrees in the last fifty years causing many glaciers and icebergs to melt beyond recovery. The continent of Antarctica is has no indigenous people, no permanent inhabitants and is not the sovereign territory of any nation. It does however have politics.  It is governed by an international agreement known as the Antarctic Treaty, which has been signed by 45 countries. The treaty stipulates that the continent can only be used for scientific research, which must be shared. Until, the mid 1980's the only visitors were scientists. .