Image 1 of 1
Pourquoi Pas Island, Antarctica, January 8, 2008 - A sea lion basks in the sun on the fast ice on Pourquoi Island. The continent of Antarctica is has no indigenous people, no permanent inhabitants and is not the sovereign territory of any nation. It does however have politics.  It is governed by an international agreement known as the Antarctic Treaty, which has been signed by 45 countries. The treaty stipulates that the continent can only be used for scientific research, which must be shared.